Country Living - Vintage Finds and New Found Treasures in Amador City
Photo © Karrie Lindsay
Sandy Jurisich began her commercial adventure in this Gold Rush era city in 1975. She started coming to Amador County in the early 70s. Her visits convinced her that the area was wonderful. She opened a shop in the building just barely seen in the bottom edge of the historic photograph. It is thought that it was an equipment shed for the local mine.
For eight years, they made everything in their shop. Making spoon rings, macramé, sea urchin spine jewelry, soap stone objects, burl wood clocks, mother of pearl pieces, during the weekdays, they sold out on the weekends. Then started the cycle all over again.
Later, the Kling Building became available and they moved to space that was once a saloon. This larger shop allowed them to add folk art and other handmade items by local artisans. They were there for 15 years. Sandy made a shift to country and shabby chic when the store moved across the street in 1998. It is the Weil Wareroom building, rebuilt in brick after the 1878 fire. Her skills are legendary.
Now in the third historic building in Amador City and running one of the longest continually operating businesses, the Ledger-Dispatch featured Sandy in 1982. Country Business Magazine, a trade publication, featured her in a 2009 Profile. Genuine customer service combined with fair pricing, keeps folks coming from far and wide.
Come in and experience Sandy's warm "Welcome".
Seasons Open: Open throughout the year, Wednesday through Saturday from 11 - 5. Sunday from 12 - 5.