Historic Camp Richardson Resort & Marina
Photo © Camp Richardson Resort
Since 1924, Camp Richardson has been a favorite destination on Lake Tahoe’s south shore for people to come to recreate, reflect, restore and renew themselves. Captain Alonzo Richardson would travel from Placerville in his Piece Arrow touring car and transport guests to his idyllic haven in the towering pines on the shores of the “Lake of the Sky."
Nestled in one of the last old-growth forests on the southwest shore of Lake Tahoe, Camp Richardson is one of the few places where one can experience a piece of "Old Tahoe." Many families have returned to Camp Richardson every summer for over 70 years, making the trip with two, three and four generations. The cabins still bear the names of the automobiles and bus equipment given to them by the Richardsons. Built in 1926, the Historic Hotel features a Great Room complete with log beams and a huge stone fireplace. An old log carrier, nearly ten feet tall, stands on the front lawn. The Mountain Sports Center was once a gas station and garage. The Post Office from the Tallac Resort was moved to Camp Richardson in 1927, and houses the Coffee and Confectionery today. The Old Fashioned Ice Cream Parlor was the Trading Company, a souvenir shop complete with native totem poles on its front porch. The Steamer "Tahoe", as well as mail boats, used to call in daily at the "long wharf", now the resort pier.
Located next door is the 74-acre Tallac Historic Site, a favorite getaway in the late 1800’s for Northern California’s elite members of society. The historic site is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is the venue for the annual Valhalla Arts, Music and Theatre Festival. Camp Richardson is now operated under special use permit with the United States Forest Service. It is a true, all-season destination resort, with the charm of yesteryear.
43 cabins - 19 "year round" cabins furnished with all the comforts of home. All linens, kitchen ware, microwave, toaster, coffee makers. Fully furnished kitchens. No TV or telephone. 24 rustic, historic "summer only" cabins with basic kitchens. No microwaves. 26 hotel rooms furnished in old Tahoe charm 7 Beachside Inn rooms with TV & telephone Historic Richardson House sleeps 20 with 7 bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths, flat screen TV's, telephone, fully furnished with all amenities. Old Tahoe pine furniture throughout. 110 RV spaces 201 Tent camping sites Beacon Bar & Grill - Year round dining right on the shores of Lake Tahoe with panoramic view Full-service Marina Mountain Sports Center - Bicycle rentals in the summer - Nordic skiing and snowshoeing in winter General Store & Emerald Bay Cafe - Open daily, year-round, serving breakfast and lunch, deli take-out, groceries, beer and wine, ice, camping supplies, books, maps, clothing and gifts, ATM. Old Fashioned Ice Cream Parlor - Open Memorial weekend through September Coffee & Confectionery - Open daily in summer, weekends and holidays in the off-season
Seasons Open: Year round
Water sports - power boats, jet skis, kayaks, paddleboards, pedal boats Swimming Water ski school Sailing school Mountain biking Hiking trails X-C skiing Snowshoeing Horseback riding (0.2 mi. N) Tallac Historic Site (adjacent) Taylor Creek Visitors Center (0.5 mi. N) (Downhill ski resorts are a short drive away.)
Rate Range: $75 - $250 hotel & cabins $35 camping $40-$45 RV sites Richardson House $850+tx per night.
Hwy 50 from Sacramento, take the Hwy 89 split (north) towards Tahoe City. Located 2.5 miles from South Lake Tahoe.
Hwy 395 from Reno to Carson City NV, take Hwy 50 through Stateline NV to the Hwy 89 split. Head north toward Tahoe City.
Hwy 80 from Sacramento, take Hwy 89 south at Truckee. Turn right at the stoplight in Tahoe City and continue south on Hwy 89, past Emerald Bay.
Sorry....no pets allowed. Service animals only.