Located on Lincoln Way at the intersection of Highway 49 in Auburn, California. There is a small public park and amphitheater located at the far end of the rear parking lot.
About this Establishment
This classic Beaux-Arts style building was saved from the wrecking ball in 1990 by the citizens of Auburn. It was built in 1915 by famed architect William Henry Weeks for a grammar school. Weeks is recognized as one of California's most significant institutional architects. His career spanned the years from the early 1890s to the 1930s.
This two story concrete and terra -cotta building was a showcase of modern education in its time. It housed thousands of students until it was deemed unsafe for student occupancy under contemporary earthquake standards and became the Auburn Union Elementary School district offices. Faced with destruction in the late 1990's, the citizens of Auburn demanded that the old building be saved. It was earthquake retrofitted, restored and converted into the offices and meeting spaces for the city of Auburn in 1990.
This building is on the National Register of Historic Places, # 11000938.