Located along the Downie River in the historic community of Downieville, the Carriage House Inn is located in the center of this quiet gold rush town. Within walking distance to the museum, courthouse, restaurants, Yuba Theater, and mountain bilke shuttles, the inn features comfortable rooms and beautiful decks overlooking the Downie River.
The way it was is the way it still is in Downieville. Nestled in a forested canyon at 2,950 feet, picturesque and historic Downieville is a true relic of the California Gold Rush where life carries on much as it did a century ago. The Carriage House Inn building was built in 1938, replacing an earlier building on the site destroyed by the great flood of 1937. The building has served as the town post office, library, beauty shop, schoolroom, and burger joint before being remodeled as the Carriage House Inn in 1999 by the present owners.
The inn loves mountain biking and offers safe bicycle storage. Shuttle service to mountain bike trails can be arranged. Call Yuba Expedition 530-289-3012 or www.yubaexpeditions.com.