The Bath House Museum in the Feather River Nature Center and Native Plant Park in Oroville provides education and exhibits portraying local wildlife, basaltic boulders as well as paintings. The Nature Center and Native Plant Park showcases the native plants indigenous to the Feather River and the River's history. The Nature Center grounds are beautiful, and house various native plants, trees, and animals. The Feather River Nature Center and Native Plant Park also provide benches, trails, and lies above the breathtaking backdrop of the Feather River.
The Feather River starts in the Sierra Nevada - it runs all the way from Plumas County to Sacramento. It has a rich history and is very scenic. The Feather River, before the encroachment of Western Civilization, was the site of a Maidu fishing village - along the water's edge evidence of the early Maidu settlers can still be seen today by the mortar holes in the basaltic boulders from the Native Americans grinding the acorns.. The Feather River provided an abundant supply of giant Chinook salmon, and the plentiful blue oaks nestled along the riverbeds provided acorns for harvesting.
In 1849, gold was discovered on the Feather River bringing a large amount of fortune hunters to the area. Much of the resources needed for gold mining, including the trees needed to build the mines, came from the Sierra Nevada. The gold ran out quickly, however, the popularity of the Feather River increased and so did the need for recreation. The Feather River became an ideal place for fishing, swimming, and picnicking. This area was established as a city park in 1926.
The Bath House at the Feather River Nature Center and Native Plant Park was built in the mid 1930s, providing shower and restroom facilities for swimmers and sunbathers. However, in December of 1937, a major flood destroyed the beach area, and created a dangerous undertow making the area unsuitable for recreation. The Bath House was abandoned.
The Feather River Nature Center and Native Plant Park was created in the fall of 1996 when a group of members gathered to reclaim "Oroville's first city park" and cleared the old Bath House of debris.