This family friendly Forest Service campground, nestled along the Generals Highway between Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, is located within the Hume Lake Ranger District of the Giant Sequoia National Monument. Camp among towering fir and pine trees next to a granite rock filled creek from which this area gets its name, Stony Creek.
The first plans for a developed campground at Stony Creek were initiated in 1936. An incinerator latrine was added in 1941 that is no longer in use, however, the building is still part of the campground today. In 1958 the campground was finished being built that included three flush toilet buildings that are still in use today.
From the late 1880s until around 1904, this area was used as an encampment by Buffalo Soldiers who were in charge of patrolling the parks. U.S. Army regiments had been serving in Sequoia and General Grant (Kings Canyon) National Parks since 1891, but until 1899 the soldiers serving were white. Beginning in 1899, and continuing in 1903 and 1904, African-American regiments served during the summer months in this area. Because these soldiers served before the National Park Service was created (1916), they were "park rangers" before the term was coined.
Services and amenities within this campground include an amphitheater, fire rings, bear boxes for food storage, picnic tables, flush toilets and potable water. Stony Creek is an excellent location for day trips between the two parks, within walking distance of the Jennie Lakes Wilderness, and fishing opportunities along Stony Creek. Also close by are Hume Lake, the Big Meadows area, and Buck Rock Lookout, all located within the Giant Sequoia National Monument.
Other campgrounds/facilities within this area include Upper Stony Creek Campground and Picnic Area, Fir and Cove Group Campgrounds, and the Stony Creek Resort. The Stony Creek Resort is located approximately 1/2 mile from the campground and offers a general store, gas, phones, laundry, shower facilities, small restaurant and lodging.