Sutter Creek Wine Tasting remains one of the many iconic buildings that characterize the town’s cultural heritage. The white building, once owned by Italian immigrant Carlo Soracco from Genoa, served as his servant’s quarters. Though Soracco never soiled his hands carving out the local hillsides for riches, he did strike gold in his own fashion by provisioning mining gear to local miners and treasure seekers. The Soracco family laid claim to most of eastern Sutter Creek; and the Soracco scions still own the building that houses Sutter Creek Wine Tasting, Scott Harvey Wines, Sutter Gold and the Antique Gardner, amongst others.
The building, built in 1890, encapsulates two parts of Sutter Creek and Amador County, that are inextricably intertwined: gold mining and wine making. Today, the Victorian-era building houses a wine tasting room, Sutter Creek Wine Tasting, featuring wines from Le Mulet Rouge (featuring estate grown wines and flavored sparklings).